Initial Development setup failing

Hi Everyone,

I’m just starting out on setting up VCMI and can’t get a solution to build.
My setup: Windows 10 64bit with Visual Studio 2017 community
I have set up both the vcpg and vcmi folders on the root folder of my F: drive

I am following the instructions at https://wiki.vcmi.eu/How_to_build_VCMI_(Windows/Vcpkg) to set up for VS 2017 and have gotten to “Generate Solution for VCMI” with the cmake command line
"cmake …/source -DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=[VCPKG_DIR]/scripts/buildsystems/vcpkg.cmake -G “Visual Studio 15 2017 Win64"”

I get the error

F:\VCMI\build>cmake …/source -DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=[VCPKG_DIR]/scripts/buildsystems/vcpkg.cmake -G "Visual Studio 15 2017 Win64"
CMake Error at C:/Program Files/CMake/share/cmake-3.9/Modules/CMakeDetermineSystem.cmake:100 (message):
Could not find toolchain file: [VCPKG_DIR]/scripts/buildsystems/vcpkg.cmake
Call Stack (most recent call first):
CMakeLists.txt:1 (project)

– Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!

I have been working on this for a few hours now and can’t get past this point.
Does anyone know why this is happening? Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Alan

Hello!
You need to replace [VCPKG_DIR] with full or relative path to directory where you unpacked Vcpkg libraries package. So on my machine it’s for instance:

cmake ../source -DCMAKE_TOOLCHAIN_FILE=D:/dev/vcpkg/scripts/buildsystems/vcpkg.cmake -G "Visual Studio 15 2017 Win64"

Keep in mind that ../source should be valid path to VCMI source code you cloned from git.

i just update guide on Wiki to make it less confusing.
Now all commands and paths are specified against single [VCMI_DIR] variable.

So if you stuck on something please start over. Thanks.

Thanks for the replies and update to the wiki. I’ll start again and let you know how I go.
Cheers
Alan