Hello and Suggestion: Witch's Hut and Battles HOTA style

I’m new here, and I just wanted to express my gratitude to the Polish fans and all others for their dedication to keeping this game alive and thriving. As an aging man with a strong passion for everything Might and Magic, it’s truly heartening to witness the fans’ unwavering support for this game.

Throughout my journey, I have thoroughly enjoyed playing HOTA and ERA II WOG, but lately, I’ve been primarily engrossed in VCMI and its extensive collection of mods. While VCMI offers incredible flexibility as a ground-up rebuild, there are a couple of small quality-of-life features from HOTA that I’ve noticed are still missing in VCMI.

One such feature is the ability to opt out of Witch’s Hut skills, which is currently non-optional in VCMI. Additionally, HOTA auto-resolves every battle with the option to manually give it a try afterward, a huge convenience. Although I’m not an expert, I believe VCMI has the potential to incorporate these features due to its flexible nature. Given my background in LUA and Java programming from college, I might even consider developing a mod myself to add these features, assuming I find the time and that’s it is not too time-consuming between modding other games.

If there are no plans to add these features, could anyone explain how I might start doing so myself or point me in the direction of some resources and guides on how to make such mods?

Hi.
I think combat replay is HD Mod feature, not HotA? In any case, option to replay combat manually is already in and will be available in next release (1.3)

Witch hut - planned, but we need to make some changes in engine (c++) to allow moddable witch hut. So not sure when this will happen since we have more important stuff to do at the moment and our team is rather small.

@ Ensrick WitchHut should use Rewardable object, which already fives option to refuse a reward: Modding ~ Objects ~ Rewardable · vcmi/vcmi Wiki · GitHub