Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Moved by: Warmonger
2014-02-23, 18:28
VCMI for Android
Author Message
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 56
Posted: 2017-06-19, 17:10   

Quote:
Now only visual glitches I have is misplaced into video and some 1-2pixel line at bottom whee some weird white pixels could be flickering at times. I actually even managed to screenshot both line and intro glitch. I sent them through slack, please download one with line so you can see it.

@Intro: Do you mean that there's some unused space on the top/left? It looks the same for me AND these black margins are also present in the desktop version as well.
@bottom line: this will be much harder to debug. Honestly, this looks like some problem in SDL. Might also be connected to this post http://forum.vcmi.eu/viewtopic.php?p=15931#15931 where sdl displays random junk in the letterboxed space on the sides.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 387
Posted: 2017-06-19, 22:38   

Fay wrote:
Downloading these submods on startup shouldn't be a problem (but we probably should ask the user if he wants to; I'm not sure how common users without data plans are ;) ).
Problem is that we absolutely shouldn't include mods with unclear licensing to our Google Play packages. After all it's should be doable to rework them with free assets instead (extraResolutions at least).
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 56
Posted: 2017-06-20, 21:28   

Yeah, I meant we can solve it like this:
* place these submods somewhere online,
* build android package without them (rebuilding internalData without submods),
* after starting the app for the first time (or basically any time when submods are not detected) ask user if he wants to download them -> download&unpack them to internal data folder.

Well, assuming that this method would be legally possible.
 
     
SkyRE 

Joined: 25 Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Posted: 2017-06-22, 20:15   

Hello Fay,

Issues:
Doesn't load next scenario of campaign after showing introduction video of it. Hang on main picture - in my case third from http://forum.vcmi.eu/viewtopic.php?p=15931#15931.
Auto fight crashes VCMI right before showing results (creatures lost by attacker & defeater, ...). Does in release version, doesn't in latest develop.
Fight is something like "tap-action-tap-action-tap-..." or LONG wait for actions with pointer mode set to "Native with map swipe". In dev.

Android keyboard could be made more usefull (hide,show,arrows...) when saving scenarios? something like in JuiceSSH during session.
I could upload saves. HMM III Complete, Android 7.0 & Android 6.0

Related to:
VCMI-1.4-api21-20170515-release.apk
VCMI-branch-develop-01e5f99-fb57108.apk
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 56
Posted: 2017-06-27, 17:03   

Quote:
Doesn't load next scenario of campaign after showing introduction video of it.
Do you mean "next scenario" as in moving to the next mission after winning the previous one? I guess I can check that, but it doesn't look like android-specific problem.
Quote:
Auto fight crashes VCMI right before showing results (creatures lost by attacker & defeater, ...). Does in release version, doesn't in latest develop.
Yeah, this was the vcmi problem at the time I built the app last time. Use automatic builds if possible, they're the most up-to-date.
Quote:
Fight is something like "tap-action-tap-action-tap-..." or LONG wait for actions with pointer mode set to "Native with map swipe". In dev.
I'm not sure what you mean... pointer modes shouldn't affect the performance (and even if they did, it's relative mode that would be slower, as it needs some extra calculations). And if you mean the performance in general, then there isn't much that I can do from android side.
Quote:
Android keyboard could be made more usefull (hide,show,arrows...) when saving scenarios? something like in JuiceSSH during session.
Currently keyboard handling uses default SDL android implementation and I never really analyzed the logic. But honestly I'm not sure what to do there. Waiting for ideas. ;)
One thing I can think of (not strictly about the keyboard) is to add the button to open the chat/console, because I don't think there is a way to do it in the gui.

@SXX
I found out that the fix for the "red background" won't behave correctly on all devices and will crash the app if that device doesn't support the surface type that I forced. In this case I'll probably need to add some better egl capabilities detection (a simple solution would be to check if RGB565/Depth0 is supported, otherwise fall-back to the gl-chosen default values -- not sure if it's possible to implement without messing up SDL config).
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 387
Posted: 2017-06-27, 21:10   

BTW today I played short game on Android and so far only problems I seen is battle machines tend to appear in army (though I guess this could be problem with outdated bundled config files) and also battle end tend to crash game for some reason.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 387
Posted: 2017-06-28, 23:19   

Small note. I dropped VCMILIB_ADDITIONAL_SOURCES from CMakeList and instead added "ifdef" for Android-specific code. I hope this won't break something since I really hope to at least share CMake configs.
 
     
SkyRE 

Joined: 25 Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Posted: 2017-07-02, 10:18   

Hello, Fay.
I've findout that issue not in "next scenarion" but even on second loading after one game was already loaded without complete exiting (to "desktop") from game.
I've recorded videos with issues.
Next scenario hang - https://youtu.be/6Ev4pwCwzBE
Second load hang - https://youtu.be/qrPXmB2SEZ0
Slow fight - https://youtu.be/O867LD377Qs
Large keyboard vs keyboard use in JuiceSSH - https://youtu.be/Tc0ET_YVZMk
 
     
SkyRE 

Joined: 25 Nov 2016
Posts: 11
Posted: 2017-07-03, 20:57   

Hello SXX,
Where I should report not android related issues?
Because i've tried to switch to "next scenario" on PC (Linux) and one campaign scenario (Clearing the Border) loaded "next scenario" (After the Amulet) and i saved it to continue on android, but other campaign scenario (Graduation Exercise) crashed vcmi on PC on loading next scenario of campaign.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 387
Posted: 2017-07-03, 21:32   

SkyRE wrote:
Where I should report not android related issues?

Our bug tracker is here:
https://bugs.vcmi.eu

But use search first because most likely this is already reported.
There are issues with campaigns for quite some time.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 387
Posted: 2017-07-05, 02:13   

Sorry, I tried to merge some of the CMake projects locally, but failed. Still unsure why it's fail to build now because I added CAndroidVMHelper into the main CMakeLists.txt of our lib. :-( .
 
     
HarryPhoon

Joined: 06 Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Posted: 2017-07-06, 22:06   

I don't really understand git and Travis but to me it seems unnecessary to use submodules as a way to update VCMI for daily builds. Wouldn't it be better to update the repository itself?? And shouldn't be the submodule present in the vcmi-android first so that Travis can update it?? Just a rough guess.

Edit: Nah, I'm blind. The submodule is present. No idea why it gives error.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 387
Posted: 2017-07-07, 08:28   

HarryPhoon wrote:
Edit: Nah, I'm blind. The submodule is present. No idea why it gives error.

It's gives error simply because I broke it. I tried to actually merge some of Android build configuration into our main CMake files, but failed.

Once I find time to install everything needed for Android build to my own machine I'll fix it one way or another.
 
     
hardy 

Age: 30
Joined: 08 Jul 2017
Posts: 1
Posted: 2017-07-08, 05:18   

Hi there ! How can i play expansion WOG on VCMI for android ? I can't find WOG mod folder anywhere to put it on android.
 
     
HarryPhoon

Joined: 06 Jan 2017
Posts: 12
Posted: 2017-07-08, 07:54   

I think you have to install it first on your PC and then copy the data into vcmi-data folder in android.
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.03 second. SQL queries: 14