Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
OS X Build
Author Message
yunusemrecan

Joined: 17 Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Posted: 2016-12-17, 11:22   

markhor wrote:
I've created the gist with instructions how to build VCMI on latest MaxOSX.


I followed instructions and It's work well, but is there a way to use launcher ?
 
     
Ophiliar

Joined: 04 Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Posted: 2017-02-04, 22:48   

Where all prebuilt stable releases are? Couldn’t find one for version 0.99, so I created it by myself. This package maybe useful for people with «App Transport Security» error.

0.99 dmg for OS X (no launcher, compiled on El Capitan 10.11.6): https://dl.dropbox.com/s/tzb91n8nuvhsle5/vcmi-0.99.dmg?dl=1

But before you open app, you must install dependencies in Terminal:
Code:
brew install smpeg2 innoextract libpng freetype
brew install sdl sdl2 sdl2_ttf sdl2_image boost
brew install sdl2_mixer --with-smpeg2


After the VCMI installation is complete, perhaps you’d like to change screen resolution. It’s hard without a launcher, but possible to do in a number of ways:
enable «Extra resolutions» mod in launcher on Windows and then copy configuration files from Windows to Mac;
or just download and unzip my packed config: https://dl.dropbox.com/s/ictmw380ubifkf4/MacOsX_Resolutions.zip?dl=1
Then open VCMI home dir using Terminal:
Code:
cd "$HOME/Library/Application Support/vcmi"
open .

and overwrite «config», «downloads», «Mods» folders with unzipped ones.
 
     
darklord42

Joined: 27 Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Posted: 2017-02-27, 22:16   

Ophiliar wrote:
Where all prebuilt stable releases are? Couldn’t find one for version 0.99, so I created it by myself. This package maybe useful for people with ...


Thank-you so much! Just one thing. Do you think you could use a tool like dylibbundler (I'm pretty sure there is a brew install for this) to bundle in all required dylibs into your app bundle? (bearing in mind keywords such as @executable_path to link the libraries to the executable) I've used it many times and I find the process is quite simple after building. I could do it, but you probably still have the setup.

Thing is not all of us mac users have homebrew installed, and it makes it difficult to use your app in any meaningful way. I myself strongly prefer macports as I feel it is generally a bad idea to mix GNU tools with Apple ones, and have been burned by homebrew in the past. But that's me.
 
     
Ophiliar

Joined: 04 Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Posted: 2017-03-01, 23:00   

darklord42 wrote:
you could use a tool like dylibbundler

Thank you, this tool is very helpful. You can download release with included dependencies using this old link:
https://dl.dropbox.com/s/tzb91n8nuvhsle5/vcmi-0.99.dmg?dl=1
 
     
darklord42

Joined: 27 Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Posted: 2017-03-04, 04:35   

Awesome, seems to work great! Thanks again!
 
     
darklord42

Joined: 27 Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Posted: 2017-03-04, 05:35   

Although I fear, once I installed VCMI from my GoG installer, I am getting

Illegal instruction: 4

when running the client. Not sure what to do about it. I have OSX 10.11.6

EDIT

Strange, worked on my AMD hackentosh just fine, but not on my 2010 MacbookPro. Oh well at least we know it's not on your end :)
 
     
Ophiliar

Joined: 04 Jun 2014
Posts: 5
Posted: 2017-03-05, 08:30   

darklord42 wrote:
Strange, worked on my AMD hackentosh just fine, but not on my 2010 MacbookPro.

It is strange, because I have compiled this app on my Early 2015 MacBook Air MJVP2
 
     
darklord42

Joined: 27 Feb 2017
Posts: 4
Posted: 2017-03-08, 04:51   

Wonder if you built with some cpu feature that is not supported by my older i7...But an AMD fx8370 does.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 389
Posted: 2017-06-14, 07:29   

Hello everyone. If there are any MacOS users who wish to help me with new builds testing please join our Slack:
https://slack.vcmi.eu/

I already setup automatic build uploading from Travis CI, but Mac builds are broken here and my ability to test them limited since I only have MacOS in VM and I sadly don't have any Mac compatible GPU to passthrough here.
 
     
hkoehler

Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Posted: 2017-07-11, 23:37   

Ran into the following error on OS/X 10.10.5:

-- Found PkgConfig: /usr/local/bin/pkg-config (found version "0.29.2")
-- Checking for module 'libavcodec'
-- No package 'libavcodec' found
-- Checking for module 'libavformat'
-- No package 'libavformat' found
-- Checking for module 'libavdevice'
-- No package 'libavdevice' found
-- Checking for module 'libavutil'
-- No package 'libavutil' found
-- Checking for module 'libswscale'
-- No package 'libswscale' found
-- Checking for module 'libpostproc'
-- No package 'libpostproc' found
CMake Error at /usr/local/Cellar/cmake/3.5.2/share/cmake/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:148 (message):
Could NOT find FFmpeg (missing: FFMPEG_INCLUDE_DIRS AVCODEC_LIBRARIES
AVCODEC_INCLUDE_DIRS AVFORMAT_LIBRARIES AVFORMAT_INCLUDE_DIRS
AVUTIL_LIBRARIES AVUTIL_INCLUDE_DIRS SWSCALE_LIBRARIES
SWSCALE_INCLUDE_DIRS)

Fixed with (probably - installed a few other libs in the process):

brew install ffmpeg

may want to add this to the install instructions. Also the link to sparkle download is outdated (no longer exists).
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 389
Posted: 2017-07-22, 00:29   

I almost fixed DMG build, but there is something seriously wrong with Qt magic that make it possible to avoid system libraries usage instead of one bundled with DMG. Though this shouldn't be a problem for players who don't have Qt installed system-wide with brew.

I really can't find out whatever it's fixed in 5.9.1 or not:
https://bugreports.qt.io/browse/QTBUG-56814

Also I have weird time with CMake FIXUP_BUNDLE due to one of Boost libraries, but I guess this one would be easier to solve.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 389
Posted: 2017-07-22, 01:27   

Ok problem with Boost library were caused by fact that none of our executables now use "boost-test", but it's dependency was still put into the bundle while CMake failed to find what executable need that library. Fixed it by removing it:
https://github.com/vcmi/vcmi/commit/1b9daecd2705ccd014b20c8fec076dfeb27d7757
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 389
Posted: 2017-07-22, 01:42   

Sadly can't fix problem with CMake and BundleUtilities, not many answers are there:
https://stackoverflow.com/questions/35612687/cmake-macos-x-bundle-with-bundleutiliies-for-qt-application

All I can find is "don't use bundle utility for Qt" :-)

UPD: Nice guy @l2y on #qt IRC pointed me to this Kitware project:
https://github.com/OpenChemistry/avogadroapp
I'll try to reuse their Qt deployment for VCMI.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 389
Posted: 2017-07-22, 03:02   

Okay all other comments will be on github:
https://github.com/vcmi/vcmi/pull/351
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 389
Posted: 2017-07-22, 04:20   

Starting of game still crashing because of some issues with AI, but builds should have all needed deps for client ans sever bundles:
https://builds.vcmi.download/PR/351/macOS/
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.03 second. SQL queries: 12