Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Welcome to our board! A few words about VCMI Project.
Author Message
Tow 
Project Lead
VCMI Programmer


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 1407
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posted: 2008-07-19, 02:34   

pgarchangel wrote:
What could be if PB would open sources of Gothic game (many fans are asking for it, and the engine is very old)... some people are were disassembling the game and making useful tools for modmeakers, other creating dll-injections to add multiplayer there. And there are hearling about recreating Gothic engine... If sources were open, all could be much easier.

I can repeat after TowDragon - if PB had our policy of access to code, there would be no problem. Anyone who needs our sources and has a good idea what to do with them (and skills to realise it) can receive our help.
_________________
VCMI is a work in progress.
VCMI is NOT an another mod.
 
     
pgarchangel
Guest
Posted: 2008-07-19, 21:46   

Tow wrote:
I can repeat after TowDragon - if PB had our policy of access to code, there would be no problem. Anyone who needs our sources and has a good idea what to do with them (and skills to realise it) can receive our help.

Well, somebody will receive them. But you must give it them by some license, which would allow him to do with source code described manipulations. For example, by russian laws, if there would be only "(c)", then product cann't be modified and redistrubuted. Only licence can allow it. The other way - is by giving exclusive rights on product. But it means that received side could close source and sell the product. The same result would be by refusing of any author rights (it would become National property).

Any other case is illegal. And if you have you own license, it would be legal only by the notary's assurance. I'll say again, it's only for Russian legislation. I don't know what would be in other countries.


Anyway, I wish you all the best could be for such a game! ;-)
 
     
Zamolxis 
Moderator


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 744
Location: Brussels, BE
Posted: 2008-08-05, 20:43   

Anonymous wrote:
Great work!

Look at the img here - this is screen shot of early Heroes 3 alfa version:

http://img86.imageshack.u...shot3bigko9.jpg

Look at the bright game colors or the fonts or the world map border without north-south-east-west letters.
Can you include something from there? :roll:

Not at this stage maybe, but we should keep in mind that building in the center of the map. Maybe de developing team can add it as customizable object in the map editor, to be used later on for different mods.

While I understand why those were not chosen as final graphics (they are a bit cartoonish maybe), I feel that building in the center has a lot of potential.

As said - not now - but when we have a working game and we'll start working on adding new features, we could dig in some of these old NWC shots, for creatures & objects which were dropped, and see which of them could actually be used.
_________________
Tips for testers:
- Check the bugs already reported in the BUGTRACKER, to avoid creating dupes
- Check the ITEM IMPLEMENTATION STATUS lists, to avoid reporting as “bug” a feature not yet ready for testing
- If you feel the devs should prioritize a certain feature implementation, please add it to the Missing features & functionalities thread.
- Enjoy! :)


The use of the EDIT button is strongly encouraged on the forum. ;-)
 
     
antipaladin 

Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Posted: 2008-08-25, 11:42   

Hallo.
My name is antipaladin,the god incranted.
I'm a poor wog graphic artist (frankstienr mostly..)
and i have an idea i want to share.
1.3'rd Upgrades for all towns. if its posible it would be great,your work is tramandous in this area,but not just silly upgrades,but related upgrades,i could make some,and we have tons of mm6-7-8 units to be used also as upgrades.
2.Specific Hanchmans. mildly like a commander,put hanchman no skillz or so,just specific for each faction..would also be cool
3.Changing heros, Adding,Recoloring and editing,Last i tried i was told that it is making the game crash. if so,let me know :P
4:i might be sound silly,but i tottaly forgot how to replace def files..Since i took a long pouse (8 mounths) and i need to remmber..
Via resedit2 doesnt work...
any offers?
5.im going to realignefactions in my mod.
if anyone is instested in details lemme know.
Anti.
 
 
     
Tarnoob 
Egzaltowaty maniak

Age: 22
Joined: 08 Aug 2008
Posts: 15
Location: Olsztyn, Poland
Posted: 2008-08-26, 12:36   

Quote:

1.3'rd Upgrades for all towns.

IMHO putting the mod "New Upgrades" in the Core is much better idea.
Quote:
we have tons of mm6-7-8 units to be used also as upgrades.

Not really, some of them (especially those from MM6) don't have some parts of animation.
_________________
Na sposoby s± sposoby
 
 
     
Zamolxis 
Moderator


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 744
Location: Brussels, BE
Posted: 2008-08-26, 21:45   

antipaladin wrote:
My name is antipaladin,the god incranted.

Well... I don't know what that means, but it doesn't sound good... so I'm sorry to hear it. :-? :p


Seriously now, I guess those are ideas to be discussed at a later stage. As I understand, at this point we're only testing to help the programmers build the game with all its H3C functionalities. Only once that's done, they'll start with the mods (WoG mainly, but prolly other creative ideas - like the ones listed by you above - will be considered as well). ;-)
_________________
Tips for testers:
- Check the bugs already reported in the BUGTRACKER, to avoid creating dupes
- Check the ITEM IMPLEMENTATION STATUS lists, to avoid reporting as “bug” a feature not yet ready for testing
- If you feel the devs should prioritize a certain feature implementation, please add it to the Missing features & functionalities thread.
- Enjoy! :)


The use of the EDIT button is strongly encouraged on the forum. ;-)
 
     
Tow 
Project Lead
VCMI Programmer


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 1407
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posted: 2008-08-26, 22:37   

Hi antipaladin!

Tarnoob wrote:
4:i might be sound silly,but i tottaly forgot how to replace def files..Since i took a long pouse (8 mounths) and i need to remmber..
Via resedit2 doesnt work...

You'll need to replace it in the .lod archive. It can be done quite easily with such programs as SimpleLod (attached to this post).
If you want to replace .def only for VCMI you can simply put it in the /Sprites subfolder (files there are treated as they were in the h3sprite.lod, overwriting original ones if thay have same name).

Your concepts will be possible to implement with script languages and modification system but it's distant future. Now, as Zamolxis wrote, we're focused on recreating H3 features.

SimpleLod.7z
Download 1328 Time(s) 62.4 KB

_________________
VCMI is a work in progress.
VCMI is NOT an another mod.
 
     
antipaladin 

Joined: 25 Aug 2008
Posts: 2
Posted: 2008-08-28, 10:12   

@Tow
First actualy replacing is not enought,simplelod is also not enought,what is needed is to change the exe. for that we needcoders: for 3rdf upgrade we can use pretty much,and thre is some needed making,but its okay,as i have a prime team.
I've also relised an alpha,but this alpha simply changes few untis,and necro commander as an eye candy,so i wont be blaimed to be doing nothing.
Also,i came to you asking if you have Town Tool,as i thought you did,from the screens of older VCMI.
also i was wondering...why would you want h3 working in CMD?

Quote:
Not really, some of them (especially those from MM6) don't have some parts of animation.

only MM6,but i know a person who cann fix it and add the animes himself,and he did so,and it working.
 
 
     
Tow 
Project Lead
VCMI Programmer


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 1407
Location: Kraków, Poland
Posted: 2008-08-28, 22:58   

antipaladin wrote:
First actualy replacing is not enought,simplelod is also not enought,what is needed is to change the exe.

We will implement in VCMI solutions that will allow replacing/adding creatures without modifying executable. One of our main goals is make game more mod-friendly.

antipaladin wrote:
i came to you asking if you have Town Tool,as i thought you did,from the screens of older VCMI

We have tools showed on our screenshots but I don't think that anyone else could make any use of them. They're not for creating towns, they are useful for recreating. ;-)

antipaladin wrote:
why would you want h3 working in CMD?

This is a provisional solution making testing and debugging more convenient.
_________________
VCMI is a work in progress.
VCMI is NOT an another mod.
 
     
Zamolxis 
Moderator


Joined: 24 Feb 2008
Posts: 744
Location: Brussels, BE
Posted: 2008-08-29, 09:49   

Tow wrote:
We will implement in VCMI solutions that will allow replacing/adding creatures without modifying executable. One of our main goals is make game more mod-friendly.

This is great news, as a few times I had the need of adding a certain feature or element in the game (for whatever reason: improve balance, or just my own gaming experience). But my technical knowledge is just not good enough to easily handle the modding possibilities the original H3 had.
_________________
Tips for testers:
- Check the bugs already reported in the BUGTRACKER, to avoid creating dupes
- Check the ITEM IMPLEMENTATION STATUS lists, to avoid reporting as “bug” a feature not yet ready for testing
- If you feel the devs should prioritize a certain feature implementation, please add it to the Missing features & functionalities thread.
- Enjoy! :)


The use of the EDIT button is strongly encouraged on the forum. ;-)
 
     
kinkylittleme
Guest
Posted: 2008-09-27, 13:49   

just had a look at it and it's really promising. great work guys! i had lost any hope of further development for this old time favorite.

I'd really like to see the initiative thing implemented in heroes 3. i like the way it works in h5 and have been thinking about it for a long time before that but i didn't have the knowledge to put it into a mod or script nor did i find anyone that could. do you think it may be possible with your executable?
 
     
d37312m1n3d

Joined: 05 Sep 2008
Posts: 4
Posted: 2008-09-27, 19:40   

kinkylittleme wrote:
i like the way it works in h5 and have been thinking about it for a long time before that but i didn't have the knowledge to put it into a mod or script nor did i find anyone that could. do you think it may be possible with your executable?


Ohh my god. I've just read what heroes 5 does with combat. I didn't play heroes 5 because of it's requirements, but now i've read what is homm5 like. And it is very sympathic to me. Especially the square grids in batleground.

On the other side, this project's main goal is to rewrite the homm3 engine. So if we want to put some things in it, it is only possible after the finish of this project IMHO. But Tow will give the final word. Anyway, i really want to see a heroes 5 with heroes 3 graphics :)
 
     
Tow dragon 
VCMI Programmer


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: Kraków
Posted: 2008-09-28, 11:24   

Actually newest development version of VCMI has stack queue similar to this implemented in Heroes 5, but the sequence of creatures is calculated in the same way as in Heroes III. We are not going to change it but we'll think about making it easily moddable. Unfortunately we haven't even started writing mod support and we won't be doing it soon.
_________________
:)
 
     
pron
Guest
Posted: 2008-10-07, 21:16   

How about a checklist of what needs to be done to get at least H3Wog functionality? What is missing right now (can't really try it, no idea where my homm cds are :()
 
     
Tow dragon 
VCMI Programmer


Joined: 01 Feb 2008
Posts: 1004
Location: Kraków
Posted: 2008-10-08, 09:31   

It'd be still a very long list. I think we should make such list when VCMI is quite playable. ATM you cannot even save your game, win a scenario or try to play with others.
_________________
:)
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.05 second. SQL queries: 15