Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Horn of the Abyss
Author Message
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2014-07-22, 05:57   

You cna disable ability with the following formula:
Code:

"abilityName" : null

That's just why every ability is named ;)
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
marif 


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Warsaw
Posted: 2014-07-22, 19:22   

Thanks Warmonger :)

I would appreciate if you or Ivan added the line under Firebird abilities section (I don't think that reuploading the whole mod just for this is a good idead since it is not published yet :p ):

Code:
"immuneToFire" : null


On the other hand, I reuploaded the whole Town corrections mod mod below again (I fixed one or two small issues - I think that is easier than to instruct what to fix). I hope everything is fine now...

There is something else wrong i noticed. When I try to change:

Code:
"guildWindow": "conflux/town/TPMAGEEL.bmp",


the graphics are misaligned by 1-2 pixels to the right. I edited it and moved 1 pixel to the left (much better), but there are still light borders visible. I also forgot to mention before - I noticed that something is wrong with building borders as well. The extracted ones from 'HotA.lod' for new buildings are misaligned by 1-2 pixels to the right like above. I edited them so that they look ok in VCMI. A bug connected with the one above?? Anyway, the mod below has edited both mage guild window and building borders.

HotA Town Corrections.zip
Download 211 Time(s) 5.42 MB

 
     
Randjan 
like games,I study C

Joined: 15 Sep 2012
Posts: 106
Posted: 2014-07-30, 11:53   

I downloaded the newest version of HotA mod from the launcher and noticed some bugs, so I fixed some little things.
Changes:
Switched images of Astra and Casmetra. This isn't really a bug, but merely a mistake in "lore".
How did this mistake come to happen? Was the entire HotA mod remade from scratch?

Changed Astra's specialty image from frost bolt to cure, which is her specialty.
I extracted that image from the original HotA def, and it usually puts out .bmp files, so I just set the extension to .png when extracting, though I noticed that the size may change if you just open in paint, save and close.

After building the first upgrade for the pirate dwelling, the 2nd upgrade doesn't have its picture shown in town hall screen, which also gives out this error while hovering over any building image:
Code:
GetImage error: Request for frame not present in CAnimation! File name: HOTA/TOWNHALL Group: 0 Frame: 46
I didn't know how to really fix this other than using a .json file with the same name as the .def used for graphics, and that was actually used in the old cove mod version, just redirecting the frame 46 to the proper frame in the def file. This is the text:
Code:
{ "frame" : 46, "file" : "hota/townhall.def:21"}
What is making me wonder here is does the building id actually represent the number of the frame in the archive(def) and does it always have to be like that if that's true?

What's the difference between hero specialty "tooltip" and "description"? On the wiki, it says that tooltip is visible on clicking and that it supports using {} for making yellow text, and "\n" for line breaks. I also saw "\r" in mods, what's that one supposed to mean? It says that the description is actually visible when hovering over specialty icon, so where would that text appear? In the bottom of the screen? Instead of that, only description is visible when clicking and tooltips don't work at all. Is this a known bug?

I don't know does the Sea Dogs' ability works the same as death stare, will it be possible to add a new ability with new graphics? Or just graphics, if the ability is the same?

I wanted to ask why are there no images for creature abilities, like for example this picture


HotA creature changes and town corrections have not yet been uploaded in the repository?
I'm checking if there's anything else that may be wrong, but I probably won't find anything new. I will probably post the link to the entire HotA mod with changes soon then, even though I only changed the cove submod, so could i maybe upload just that?
EDIT:
Here's the cove submod: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/88897131/Cove.zip
Last edited by Randjan on 2014-07-30, 12:25; edited 3 times in total  
 
     
Macron1
Guest
Posted: 2014-07-30, 11:59   

Randjan wrote:
What is making me wonder here is does the building id actually represent the number of the frame in the archive(def) and does it always have to be like that if that's true?

It's right. Building ID corresponds to frame in town hall icons.


Quote:
I wanted to ask why are there no images for creature abilities, like for example this picture


It's something with your installation. These icons are shipped in "vcmi" mod. If you build VCMI from sources, these pictures are not included into sources, as i remember.
 
     
Ivan 
VCMI programmer

Age: 26
Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 1438
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 2014-07-30, 21:34   

Some of those icons come with VCMI itself but majority are from WoG. So if you don't have WoG enabled you won't have icons.
_________________
Send PM if there is something that needs my attention.
 
     
tkamin
Guest
Posted: 2014-08-10, 09:29   

In the current version of the Cove town submod Corsairs cannot be upgraded to Sea Dogs. In addition the graphics for Gunpowder Warehouse is black.
 
     
Randjan 
like games,I study C

Joined: 15 Sep 2012
Posts: 106
Posted: 2014-08-10, 17:59   

@tkamin, I mentioned that in my post and fixed that, it's just that it's not uploaded yet, I hope it will.
 
     
Ivan 
VCMI programmer

Age: 26
Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 1438
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 2014-08-11, 10:35   

Sorry for delay, will do an update today.

UPD:
marif, I have nothing against your mod but I not sure if it is a good idea to include it in HotA because it mostly consists from edited H3 graphics (unlike rest of HotA).

So I'd rather keep it separate, at least for now.

Quote:
What's the difference between hero specialty "tooltip" and "description"? On the wiki, it says that tooltip is visible on clicking and that it supports using {} for making yellow text, and "\n" for line breaks. I also saw "\r" in mods, what's that one supposed to mean? It says that the description is actually visible when hovering over specialty icon, so where would that text appear? In the bottom of the screen? Instead of that, only description is visible when clicking and tooltips don't work at all. Is this a known bug?

On tooltip & description: don't know. Both of these texts are present in H3 text but I'm not sure where each of them is used. If you can recheck H3/VCMI behaviour and report any mismatches then I can fix them.

On \r\n: H3 uses "\r\n" to indicate end-of-line (Windows-style end-of-line) , VCMI uses only "\n" (unix-style end-of-line). Both can be used by VCMI so "\r\n" is not a bug or anything like that.
 
     
marif 


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Warsaw
Posted: 2014-08-11, 11:16   

Quote:
marif, I have nothing against your mod but I not sure if it is a good idea to include it in HotA because it mostly consists from edited H3 graphics (unlike rest of HotA).


Which one? The castles mod or the creature corrections? AFAIK to some degree both have reused graphics. I thought, that while HotA mod will be gradually updated, all of its changes will be imported, so that ultimately it will be like a complete expansion rewritten specifically for VCMI.

But, ok, whatever :) Not being offended or anything, but if not, then what? A second separate HotA mod including only graphic fixes? This does not sound like an elegant solution (at least for me) and I think that there will be a demand for this anyway :)

Cheers!
 
     
Ivan 
VCMI programmer

Age: 26
Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 1438
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 2014-08-11, 12:47   

Quote:
Which one? The castles mod or the creature corrections?

But there was only one mod attached to your post? UPD: nevermind, found it on previous page.

What I'm OK with in main mod:
- completely redone creatures like pikeman/orcs;
- any mechanics/stats changes & balancing.
Quote:
But, ok, whatever :) Not being offended or anything, but if not, then what? A second separate HotA mod including only graphic fixes?

Not sure. Perhaps separately installable submod? Of course to do that I would have to finish missing bits in Launcher.

In any event - I'd like to have this second part separate from main mod. How this would be visible in Launcher UI - not sure. Possible options:
1) Submod that must be installed separately.
2) Submod that will be installed automatically but by default - disabled.
3) Separate mod with some indication in main mod? Don't like this one much.

I think any of these options should be viable by next release but for now I'd rather leave HotA mod as it.

(will upload HotA update in a minute)
 
     
marif 


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Warsaw
Posted: 2014-08-11, 13:11   

Well, I did those mods with a view that they will eventually be submods in HotA. How would they work? If there are some doubts, however, then I would also agree that one of the two points would be the best choice (I personally opt for the #2 more):

Quote:
1) Submod that must be installed separately.
2) Submod that will be installed automatically but by default - disabled.
 
     
Ivan 
VCMI programmer

Age: 26
Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 1438
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 2014-08-11, 13:39   

That's my problem how to make it work with Launcher.

Currently I'm leaning to #1 due to size of graphical mod (already half of main HotA package) and because I'd like to have optional translations organized in the same way (submod that must be installed separately).

Still, we have a few months till next VCMI update - plenty of time to decide how to use this mods and in elegant way.
_________________
Send PM if there is something that needs my attention.
 
     
marif 


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Warsaw
Posted: 2014-08-11, 14:17   

Quote:
Currently I'm leaning to #1 due to size of graphical mod (already half of main HotA package)


No to mention that there are more graphics not yet implemented (fixed objects, new objects etc.) and Forge on the way. And I hope eventually new movies and campaigns will be supported as well :) HotA is ~150MB large ATM...

Option #1 seems a reasonable solution considering that VCMI is still a long way from completion anyway :)
 
     
Randjan 
like games,I study C

Joined: 15 Sep 2012
Posts: 106
Posted: 2014-08-11, 14:31   

I've been reading this thread earlier, but I don't quite understand what are these mods Marif made that you're talking about and why should they be implemented with HotA? Are they only from HotA? HotA has balancing changes and graphical changes, like castles, but also some animated and fixed adventure map sprites as far as I remember? I know it has changed graphics of some creatures, or in some cases, "fixed" graphics, like the fire elemental, but I'm not really sure what is fixed there.
 
     
marif 


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Warsaw
Posted: 2014-08-11, 14:42   

To say it simple, those are partial changes from HotA ecompassing only castle changes and creature changes (graphics/balancing). Everything you mentioned is virtually in those mods.

There are still many things to be done and with time everything should be implemented (correct me if I am wrong)...

I have somewhere the link to changelog from HotA. If I don't forget I will paste it here. You can check on page 3 of this thread what I did in creature mod :)
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.03 second. SQL queries: 15