Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Modding FAQ
Author Message
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2013-07-29, 18:50   

And another question.
I need to make creatures that are strong at melee combat, and their shooting is weaker (for example, for 30-50%). Is there a way to make some bonus/minus so their melee damage will be higher that shots?
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1537
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2013-07-29, 19:27   

Quote:
Is there a way to make some bonus/minus so their melee damage will be higher that shots?

Use ONLY_DISTANCE_FIGHT range modifier to add some penalty for creature attack.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2013-07-29, 19:51   

Warmonger wrote:
Quote:
Is there a way to make some bonus/minus so their melee damage will be higher that shots?

Use ONLY_DISTANCE_FIGHT range modifier to add some penalty for creature attack.


In creature bonuses I found CREATURE_DAMAGE.
But this usually is written in hero config, so will it work, if I write bonus in creature config? Will this bonus be only for the creature?

If this will not work, I found ALWAYS_MINIMUM_DAMAGE for attacks from range.
There can be assigned antibonus to minimum damage. So I can make it -val to correct ranged attacks. Right?
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2013-08-15, 10:17   

By the way, I saw idea of artifact, that turns out flying ability of all creatures in battle.
Is something like this already possible in VCMI?
Or all flying creatures must be listed by their name in that case?
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
HatredElement 

Age: 18
Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 25
Posted: 2013-08-22, 13:21   

Please forgive my stupid questions and and poor English.How "advMapAmount" works?
 
     
Ivan 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 1438
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 2013-08-22, 15:18   

Described here: http://wiki.vcmi.eu/index...Creature_Format

This is used to determine size of creature army placed in map editor or on receiving double growth from "Month of" event.
Code:
"advMapAmount" :
{
    "min" : 10,
    "max" : 20
},

This code means that random stacks of a creature on map will be 10-20 units in size.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2013-08-30, 05:50   

I know that right now it's not possible to turn off standard castles.
But we have modding mechanism that allows to change "core:<faction>" towns,
So I want to try in nearly future to take some new town and change it to replace Castle, for example.
Also I want to try to set all castle heroes as "special" : true, so they will not appear on maps.
I'll try also to replace standard creatures by new (changing their parameters, names etc leaving only identificator.
What do you think of it?
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1537
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2013-08-30, 05:58   

Well, it's not that simple. For example, Stables will always try to upgrade Cavaliers to Champions, which is hardcoded and may not make much sense once these creatures are replaced.
Same issus will be caused by any part where creatures are used - Griffin Conservatory and other banks, necromancy, skeleton transformer, Deity of Fire etc.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2013-08-30, 06:00   

Warmonger wrote:
Well, it's not that simple. For example, Stables will always try to upgrade Cavaliers to Champions, which is hardcoded and may not make much sense once these creatures are replaced.

If I change Cavaliers and Champions animations to new creatures, Stables will upgrade new units, I think.
Graphical appearance of Stables can be changed too :-)
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2013-09-12, 20:08   

I wanted to ask - is there some formulas (maybe inaccurate formulas) to calc AI Value/Fight Value for creatures (maybe based on hit points, damage, attack/defence skills)?
I don't want, however, to calculate and correct these values manually altrough, maybe will think about some program modifying values in JSONs according to formulas.

PS If AI is not basing it's actions in battle based on these values, and they can be calculated, then maybe VCMI could count Fight Value/AI Valus on start not forcing people to enter these values as required?
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Ivan 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 1438
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 2013-09-12, 22:29   

Quote:
I wanted to ask - is there some formulas (maybe inaccurate formulas) to calc AI Value/Fight Value for creatures (maybe based on hit points, damage, attack/defence skills)?

None known.
Quote:
PS If AI is not basing it's actions in battle based on these values, and they can be calculated, then maybe VCMI could count Fight Value/AI Valus on start not forcing people to enter these values as required?

Battle AI largely/completely ignores them.
But adventure map AI does uses them.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2013-09-13, 11:33   

Ivan wrote:
Quote:
I wanted to ask - is there some formulas (maybe inaccurate formulas) to calc AI Value/Fight Value for creatures (maybe based on hit points, damage, attack/defence skills)?

None known.

I found tool Mon Power
https://sites.google.com/site/sergroj/wog/H3MonPower.rar?attredirects=0&d=1
It calculates AI/Fight Values for monsters based on Attack/defence/Hit Points/damage values
(not all, but author swears it gives results close to standard).
Unfortunately, seems there are no sources, so these formulas cannot be reused in other programs...
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Randjan 
like games,I study C

Joined: 15 Sep 2012
Posts: 105
Posted: 2013-09-16, 22:43   

Can someone help me? I was trying to make a mod, and I got this error:
Code:
23:31:33 ERROR global [11c0] - Resource with name CONFIG/KNIGHT/KNIGHT and type TEXT wasn't found.
23:31:33 ERROR global [11c0] - Disaster happened.
23:31:33 ERROR global [11c0] - Reason: 0xe06d7363 - UNKNOWN EXCEPTION at 0023:75C44B32
23:31:33 ERROR global [11c0] - Thread ID: 4544 [4544]
23:31:33 ERROR global [11c0] - Crash info will be put in VCMI_client.exe_crashinfo.dmp
 
     
Ivan 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 08 May 2009
Posts: 1438
Location: Ukraine
Posted: 2013-09-17, 00:30   

This means that one of files listed in mod.json was not found (missing file or mismatching name).

Normally vcmi will load file with such name from "Mods/<modname>/Content/config/knight/knight.json"
 
     
Randjan 
like games,I study C

Joined: 15 Sep 2012
Posts: 105
Posted: 2013-09-17, 18:29   

Thank you, Ivan.

But unfortunately, I have a problem now. I'm trying to make heroes for the Succession Wars mod for VCMI, and I came across a problem that many names are the same.

So when I made a hero with a class "knight", which was actually supposed to be a H2 knight, he appeared as an additional knight hero in the castle faction. His specialty were H2 peasants, but instead he has neutral H3 peasants at startup and his specialty bonus works for them, I haven't given him the other peasants to see if his specialty will work on them, but all of this makes the mod impossible.

Any ideas? :roll:
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.02 second. SQL queries: 12