Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Fan made towns
Author Message
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2015-01-10, 17:26   

Tooandorisu wrote:
Macron1 wrote:
Great Hero Silaneo finally released redraw of HMM5 Necropolis for VCMI:
http://heroescommunity.co...D=1270232#focus
It is a huge 3d modelling work made in about 1-2 years.


Downloaded this, crash before I even get to the main menu


That's why Silaneo included VCMI 0.95B in his links.
From 0.95b format of map objects had changed. so this mod needs to be cleared of unneeded files and updated to version 0.97
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
TheOneWhoSeeks 
Mad Scientist

Age: 27
Joined: 25 Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Location: Krk
Posted: 2015-01-10, 22:17   

This town looks like it was made out od plastic so i guess it's still far from finished... but it made me wonder if as VCMI is now, is it posiible to have couple different designs of town available in game at the same time? Let's say after choosing the town when one clicks on town icon it swithces to another design. So after adding this necropoly we could have both of them on the map at the same time. How do you think, is it fissible?
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 312
Posted: 2015-01-10, 23:29   

@TheOneWhoSeek if I understand your question correct then yes, it's possible. You should be able to add any number of towns in game and they all will work and be available and may appear on pre-created maps with "random town" or in randomly generated maps.

Personally I only tested Forge and Bastion together, but don't see any reason why this wouldn't work for other towns.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2015-01-11, 11:12   

SXX wrote:
@TheOneWhoSeek if I understand your question correct then yes, it's possible. You should be able to add any number of towns in game and they all will work and be available and may appear on pre-created maps with "random town" or in randomly generated maps.

Personally I only tested Forge and Bastion together, but don't see any reason why this wouldn't work for other towns.


If more than 20-30 new towns added in one moment, there begin crashes 8-) I think it's because of memory.
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
TheOneWhoSeeks 
Mad Scientist

Age: 27
Joined: 25 Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Location: Krk
Posted: 2015-01-11, 14:44   

Excuse me i missed word "same" in my second sentence so You kind of missunderstood me. What i mean is to have multiple designs of SAME town with SAME units and SAME heroes. You would just choose one of the designbut not as another town on existing list but rather eg. once you choose necropoly you can choose one of multiple designs. I'm not sure if you get what i mean now...
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 312
Posted: 2015-01-11, 16:18   

I get what you mean. I don't think something like that is possible out-of-box, but it's shouldn't be too hard to implement.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2015-01-11, 16:19   

TheOneWhoSeeks wrote:
Excuse me i missed word "same" in my second sentence so You kind of missunderstood me. What i mean is to have multiple designs of SAME town with SAME units and SAME heroes. You would just choose one of the designbut not as another town on existing list but rather eg. once you choose necropoly you can choose one of multiple designs. I'm not sure if you get what i mean now...


- You can add several new towns (each with unique design), in which only one set of heroes and creatures will live. There can be several designs on one map. On start you will choose one of them. In that way you will need to add many new heroes (as they will be shared among variants).

- Or you replace standard faction look by one of several mods. Then you will play only with choosen look, there will not be other looks together on map.

- Or simpliest but most hard way. You prepare several mods, which only replace town screen/dwellings graphics by having same file name. But this will require messing with dwellings coordinates on town screen and working with photoshop.
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
TheOneWhoSeeks 
Mad Scientist

Age: 27
Joined: 25 Dec 2014
Posts: 6
Location: Krk
Posted: 2015-01-11, 19:53   

@Macron1
so i know the fors and secont options are available. I was thinking about something a little bit like the third one... Did you try doing it? I guess you are one of most experienced guys in modding here.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 576
Posted: 2015-03-01, 14:48   

On forum of chineese HMM3 modding forum found this townscreen screenshot.
Looks like it's remake of Cathedral town. But I didn't find any other info on this. Hope it will come out. Because town screen looks good.

20120510_821b83a001aaa9fdd96cgpuULAuyU551.jpg
3085 Time(s) 219.49 KB

_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 162
Posted: 2016-08-04, 21:20   

I re-wrote Necropolis town mod from VCMI 0.94 to 0.98f, but mod is not finished. Maybe someone wants to make missing graphics...
https://www.mediafire.com/?kawky5bdelrz9bw





 
     
Draeganfire 

Age: 45
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Posts: 44
Posted: 2016-09-17, 17:12   

I have currently 8 town mods I am playing with on my game, I am just a fan and not a programmer.....but these 8 work to verying degrees of success.

Forge (classic and Modern)(I like certain aspects of each of these)
Abyss
Fairy Town
Preserve
Grove
Bastion
Asylum

I would like to see Cathedral, and something snow (Dragon Peaks perhaps....if I can figure out how to mod I will be adding some of my own such as a variation of this one, and perhaps a Jurrasic town and a Arboretum)
 
     
Draeganfire 

Age: 45
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Posts: 44
Posted: 2016-11-30, 07:35   Town Mods for VCMI

I am currently utilizing 9 town mods

Preserve (awesome)
Bastion (desert Egyptian town)
Fairy Town (really nice but needs its own set of heroes)
Old Forge (actually my fave of the two forges)
Modern Forge
Abyss (Ocean Mod / My fave mod so far/ seems to have fewest glitches)
Grove ( nice town)
Asylum ( another beauty)
Greenhouse (just plain fun and silly....)

with the vcmi 99 mod I have been able to make random maps with all 9 :-)

I would be happy to add attachments to a post here if it is permissible.

Also I found a thread on heroes community for a beautiful Romanian Town I think the creator is looking to make for VCMI *crosses fingers*

http://heroescommunity.co...6&pagenumber=17
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1537
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2016-11-30, 09:19   

Quote:
Asylum ( another beauty)

Wait, do we have Asylum town ready? :-D
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
Draeganfire 

Age: 45
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Posts: 44
Posted: 2016-11-30, 18:11   

I have one that is working pretty darn well. It is on the town mods list. Also, in the Preserve 1.0 town, I have a suggestion for the rainbow structures special.

"The Rainbow adds +2 luck to garrison hero during a siege, and adds 350 gold per day."
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 162
Posted: 2016-12-01, 09:51   Re: Town Mods for VCMI

Draeganfire wrote:
I am currently utilizing 9 town mods
Abyss (Ocean Mod / My fave mod so far/ seems to have fewest glitches)

Please, describe more!
Quote:

"I have one that is working pretty darn well. It is on the town mods list. Also, in the Preserve 1.0 town, I have a suggestion for the rainbow structures special.

"The Rainbow adds +2 luck to garrison hero during a siege, and adds 350 gold per day."

Preserve line-up is shifted to new townscreen (New Preserve), so I guess version 1.0 is abandonned (notice that doesn't have externall dwelling at all). Some times ago I had ideas that inhabit H4 townscreen with new line-up of creatures (and give this town new name) but now I prefer create new line-up to townscreen form Another Rampart mod :)


And please enable private messages!
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.03 second. SQL queries: 14