Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Modding suggestions
Author Message
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2015-05-21, 07:43   

Quote:
anybody please help! I search for json file which can modify heroes starting army type. For example : change Tamika starting army to black knights . In bitmap.lod we can modify only quantity for each slot but not creature type.

Hero army is directly described in hero format in config/heroes files. In VCMI you don't modify .lod files.

Also we have dedicated thread (and boatd) for modding questions.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
Last edited by Warmonger on 2016-03-11, 06:28; edited 1 time in total  
 
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 578
Posted: 2015-07-30, 15:57   

Idea for future builds related to HMM7 secondary skill mechanics.
In addition of chance getting skills
Code:
    "secondarySkills" :
    {
        "pathfinding"  : 3.
        "archery"      : 6.
        ...
        "resistance"   : 5,
        "firstAid"     : 4
    },

add
Code:
    "secondarySkillsLevel" :
    {
        "pathfinding"  : 1,
        "archery"      : 2,
        ...
        "resistance"   : 1,
        "firstAid"     : 3
    },


This will mean maximum level of skill gained through random skills select on level-up on on trees of knowledge etc.
If skill is not listed in "secondarySkills", it will be ignored.
If skill is not listed in "secondarySkillsLevel", than it will be set to 3 by default (if in future modding system will allow to mod secondary skills and to add more levels of mastery, it would be changed).
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Dydzio 
VCMI developer

Joined: 27 Dec 2014
Posts: 32
Location: Poland
Posted: 2015-08-11, 21:26   

I suggest adding 'Immune to ammo cart' ability to creatures, that would allow creating units which can be for example mixed ranged/melee with 2 shots.
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 182
Posted: 2015-12-22, 10:06   

Two suggestions:

1. Is there possibility to make VCMI port of Morn Battlefields Era mod?
http://heroescommunity.co....php3?TID=22924
It would be great addon, due to outstanding visuals with no game mechanic interferences. As far I know I can't see any vcmi commands to rewrite this mod by myself. So maybe some new functionalities in future versions to allow that?

2. What do you think about new splash screens with total integration of whole Heroes3 parts? I mean: launch game->New game->New campaign and then we have multiple buttons: ROE, AB, SoD, WoG, HotA, HEROES CRONICLES and customs campaigns. User could edit appropiate json file and add a patch to specific folder or lod file (anywhere on local hard drive) containing specific campaigns to cross with appropiate campaign button.
 
     
Loremaster

Joined: 06 Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Posted: 2016-03-06, 21:22   Is it possible?

*Wall of Text*
Last edited by Loremaster on 2016-03-12, 13:43; edited 1 time in total  
 
     
Valery19

Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Posts: 47
Posted: 2016-03-10, 22:27   Re: Is it possible?

Loremaster wrote:
WALLOFTEXT


First step in modding is being able to make readable paragraphs.
 
     
Loremaster

Joined: 06 Mar 2016
Posts: 2
Posted: 2016-03-12, 13:43   

I dont know what's so hard to read. Friends of mine who are not English natives were able to read this "wall of text". Anyway, thank you for your 'help' and have a good day
 
     
Psych 

Age: 28
Joined: 04 May 2016
Posts: 2
Location: Australia
Posted: 2016-05-04, 16:42   

My idea of a town - If someone can make a town to import (preferably into hota or sod/complete)

Town: Alcazar town (based on the neutral units)
Heroes: Nomads (strength) and Gypsies (magic)
Units: Halfling, Rogue, Nomad, Sharpshooter, Troll, Enchanter, Rust Dragon (levels 1-7)

optional extra stuff
backdrop - based on the background of the neutral units, a wasteland sort of thing, include a small forest for the sharpshooter and enchanter dwellings, a river for the troll dwelling
bio - based on the wandering travelers, a town based on the roughness of the land
other - the units dont need upgrades (optional) as long as they fit in with the citadel population increase and adjusted suitable costs

I thought this would be very cool, and would like to see it
_________________
These words of wisdom come with lack of vision
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2016-05-04, 16:45   

Quote:
If someone can make a town

Yes, you could make a town - if you have spare 3 years and are both talented 3D artists and writer.

Good luck!
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
Psych 

Age: 28
Joined: 04 May 2016
Posts: 2
Location: Australia
Posted: 2016-05-05, 18:38   

Not sure how to make the town or what editors to use, already have the concept and images and i dont need to create any units or images, just need to know how to actually create the town.
If anyone who has made one of the dozen custom towns ive seen (cove, fairy, abyss, gods.. etc) can point me in the direction of how to make the town into the game would be helpful (spent a couple days looking and i haven't found how to make a town into the game, or find a town editor.
So any help/advice on doing that would be appreciated.
_________________
These words of wisdom come with lack of vision
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 182
Posted: 2016-05-05, 19:36   

The easiest way to learn how to add a new town in VCMI is dowloading existing new town and view and studying all files in it. You must have: notepad++ to view json files, defViewer to view def files and any graphic software to view bmp and pcx files. But it's better to start to learn how mods work at small mods, like Mountain Dwarf mod. You can make it, we can help you :-P
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 578
Posted: 2016-09-19, 11:19   

I propose to add more RPG-like features to artfacts modding.
Such is entry "requirements" in artifact configuration.
This field is voluntary, if not exists, than artifact use is non-limited.
If requirements are set, artifact will not be allowed to placed in "slots" places (maybe it also be drawn with some half-transparent red box on it).

Example of full "requirements" setting:

Code:

"requirements":
{
"alignment":["evil"],  //can be "evil","good","neutral",
"affinity":["might"], //can be "might","magic"
"class":["deathKnight"],  //list of classes that can use artifact
"gender":["male"],  //list of genders "male","female",     "neither","both":-) joking
"primarySkills":
  {
      "defence":5,   //if hero's defence <5, than he/she cannot use artifact
     "attack":8,
     "knowledge":7,
     "spellPower":5
   },
 "secondarySkills":   //skill and level of it required to use item
[
   {
       "skill":"armorer",       
      "level":"advanced"
   }

],
"heroLevel":10,  //level of hero to use art
"experience":10000 //qulity of experience gained required

}

Each field is voluntary, of cause
What do you think of it?
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
Macron1 

Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 578
Posted: 2016-09-19, 12:54   

Warmonger wrote:
Quote:
If someone can make a town

Yes, you could make a town - if you have spare 3 years and are both talented 3D artists and writer.

Good luck!

The pair of days will suffice :-D
Monsters bank and google picture search will be enough.
_________________
I'm not a member of VCMI developer group and my posts are not official. I'm just a fan.
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 182
Posted: 2016-09-19, 18:17   

Macron1 wrote:
I propose to add more RPG-like features to artfacts modding.
Such is entry "requirements" in artifact configuration.

Sounds quite good. It's fresh idea for overpowered artifacts like Angel Wings. It will be no use to get rid of them from the map, but will be harder to use them. I like it.

Macron1 wrote:
Warmonger wrote:
Quote:
If someone can make a town

Yes, you could make a town - if you have spare 3 years and are both talented 3D artists and writer.

Good luck!

The pair of days will suffice :-D
Monsters bank and google picture search will be enough.


I'm starting to search monster banks over the internet and try to gather 17 upgrade'able units and give them new town from Another Rampart mod. But, it's not so easy and still, lots of missing graphics will be needed to polish it!
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.03 second. SQL queries: 12