Feeding the comunity dogs that want to help graphics-wise

Ok i have spent a couple of hours on the forums looking for a more “low brainer” method of understading how i could customize my own graphics.

Personally i’m a photoshop artist, and i want to know how i can CREATE and USE custom-made graphics for this project.

i see that the format for graphics is .DEF files, but haven’t found (maybe i’m too blind) how those are made.

because at this moment, most of the graphics used are the ones from the old heroes 3.

and for this project to become totally independent of the old heroes3 - and thus, (hopefully), free, and without breaking any copyright legislations, it would require that EVERY graphic be replaced by a custom-made free equivalent, including towns, sprites, monsters and whatnot, animated or static (something that i am willing to do and help-with quite eagerly)

Therefor I humbly ask of you good folks developing this great project that you post a sticky with how the graphics format for static and animated objects should be - aka gold piles, buildings, buttons etc, so that anyone and everyone is able to understand and contribute/make them.

That is, i’m talking about image size, image transparency/cutout options, image pallete, number of frames for each animation, order of frames and what they are associated with (aka attack, defend, etc) and whatever else information you think might be vital for a good clean output.

I mean most people will start out making something in photoshop - let’s say i want to replace my gremlins with a stupid looking stick-figure man i just made with my tablet.

now that stick-figure will have to “behave” like a gremlin if put in certain situations - he will need attack anims defend anims idle anims take damage anims etc

ok so i go and do those frame by frame untill i think i have covered all the sequences.
He will probably have to be on a “blue” background that gets cut out by the game engine.