Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
cannot generate random maps at all
Author Message
xanixade

Joined: 07 Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Posted: 2017-01-07, 20:33   cannot generate random maps at all

Hello,

I firstly installed vcmi 0.99 and then all the mods i could find here.

but it seems that if i start a basic random map as any wogger does *could not create map under these circumstances*....

wog options do not exist.

great amount of hero portraits errors in the console.

i don't even know what to and how to even start this game. i couldn't find any information on any mods. meaning it does work, it doesn't and so on. it's just there and that's it.


can someone explain to me how to make them work?
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2017-01-08, 08:39   

1. Install original H3 game, preferably from GoG
2. Install vcmi to same directory
3. Use VCM_Launcher to install trusted mods from our server. Pay attention to VCMI essential files -> Default templates mod, which is a part of Windows package.

And yes, WoG options do not exist.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 180
Posted: 2017-01-08, 11:36   Re: cannot generate random maps at all

xanixade wrote:
i couldn't find any information on any mods. meaning it does work, it doesn't and so on. it's just there and that's it.
can someone explain to me how to make them work?


When you launch vcmi_launcher.exe you must click Mods section and you'll see something like that.


Yellow arrows mean that mod can be download via launcher and 'self-install'.
Red circle means that mod is installed and is DISABLED.
Green mark means that mod is installed and is ENABLED and affect the game.

To get more information about mod you must highligh it and click bracket (>) on the right side of the panel.

If you want to download untrusted external mods [sic!], you must read this:
http://wiki.vcmi.eu/index..._list#Mod_usage
 
     
Draeganfire 

Age: 45
Joined: 15 Sep 2016
Posts: 47
Posted: 2017-01-16, 16:05   Mods installed

Also you want to make sure each of your mods folders, when open has a content folder and a mod.json file.......if you open the mode folder and see another folder with the town name for example, you will need to dig down til you find the above two, copy and paste them in the right place.

The exception I ran into was Bastion zip....when unzipped into mod folder it places another mod folder and a mod.json in your Mod Folder.....delete the .mod then dig into the mod folder til you find the Bastion folder with the content / mod.json folders. Copy that Bastion folder and paste it in your vcmi mod folder, you should then be good to go.
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 180
Posted: 2017-01-16, 18:14   Re: Mods installed

Draeganfire - you are completely wrong :)

Draeganfire wrote:
Also you want to make sure each of your mods folders, when open has a content folder and a mod.json file.......if you open the mode folder and see another folder with the town name for example, you will need to dig down til you find the above two, copy and paste them in the right place.


I strongly advise you not to do this that way! Mods within mods are for purpose - these are submods ana allow player to customise some mods. For example - you can play WoG without Commanders, or without stack experience, when you disable particular submod in launcher menu. Or you can play Cove without HotA's Conlux rebalance. Or you can play Axolotl's Creature Pack only with creatures which you like best. So your way can screw customisation :)

Look at installed mods in launcher menu. Some mods have grey bracket (>) to the left of mod's name. Click on it - you'll see list of submods. That's the way thad mods within mods directory work.

Quote:

The exception I ran into was Bastion zip....when unzipped into mod folder it places another mod folder and a mod.json in your Mod Folder.....delete the .mod then dig into the mod folder til you find the Bastion folder with the content / mod.json folders.


I strongly advise you not to unzipp content.zip file if you only player, not modder. When mod is in content.zip form, alpha version of map editor load graphics without errors. When you unpack .zip and launch map editor you get bunch of errors and warnings.
Second thing: it's easier to update mod from version 1.0 to 1.1 (or any other) when you have single content.zip file. Only you have replace one file - content.zip. If you have unpacked content folder, you have replace dozens of files, which is not easy for less experienced users. And when new version of some mods have diffirent files structures - updating leads to crashes.

So, all mods from laucher and wiki mods site are proper and have been tested. You must only copy mod to your MOds folder and enable it in launcher.
 
     
hkoehler

Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Posted: 2017-07-12, 02:38   

Any updates on the random map generation issue? Doesn't want to work for me either, same error.
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2017-07-13, 14:01   

There are no issues to update, only improper installation. If you have Random Map Templates from VCMI Essential Files 'mod', it will work.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 180
Posted: 2017-07-13, 19:28   

But it's strange that even with random maps templates it is impossible to create random maps with 5 players. And templates allow to create such conditions...
 
     
hkoehler

Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Posted: 2017-07-15, 07:29   Update issues

Fair enough, may well be an installation issue. When I try to update the vcmi mod, I get the attached error message. Also ~/.local/share/vcmi/Mods is currently empty (working under Ubuntu now).

vcmi_update.png
2 Time(s) 44.09 KB

 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 180
Posted: 2017-07-15, 07:55   

Yes, because updating VCMI essentian files via launcher is the worst thing you can do. Don't ever do that. Download latest vcmi version 0.99+ from official sources and just play.

Bt. Your launcher should look like attached screen.

la.png
2 Time(s) 27.08 KB

 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 28
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2017-07-15, 08:32   

misiokles wrote:
But it's strange that even with random maps templates it is impossible to create random maps with 5 players. And templates allow to create such conditions...

Well, that's something to report as a bug.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
hkoehler

Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Posted: 2017-07-16, 23:47   

misiokles wrote:
Yes, because updating VCMI essentian files via launcher is the worst thing you can do. Don't ever do that. Download latest vcmi version 0.99+ from official sources and just play.

Bt. Your launcher should look like attached screen.


Thanks, definitely doesn't look like this for me. I've been trying to follow the installation instructions at http://wiki.vcmi.eu/index...lation_on_Linux (replacing the non-existant ppa:vcmi/vcmi with ppa:vcmi/ppa) which also matches the info on https://launchpad.net/~vcmi/+archive/ubuntu/ppa. If that info is out-dated, what's the "official" installation procedure?
  
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 387
Posted: 2017-07-17, 12:49   

hkoehler wrote:
If that info is out-dated, what's the "official" installation procedure?
Sorry, it's a mess.

Our daily builds do not contain extra RNG templates and there simply no way to download them. All you can do is grab old stable Windows build and manually copy extraResolutions, defaultTemplates and bonusIcons into your ~/.local/share/vcmi/Mods/vcmi/Mods directory.
 
     
hkoehler

Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Posts: 14
Posted: 2017-07-17, 22:03   

SXX wrote:
Our daily builds do not contain extra RNG templates and there simply no way to download them. All you can do is grab old stable Windows build and manually copy extraResolutions, defaultTemplates and bonusIcons into your ~/.local/share/vcmi/Mods/vcmi/Mods directory.


Thanks, that did the trick. Copied over the entire vcmi mod folder as there wasn't any before at all. Both high-resolution and random map generation works now. :-)
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.04 second. SQL queries: 14