Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Moved by: Warmonger
2014-02-23, 18:28
VCMI for Android
Author Message
AVS 

Joined: 25 Feb 2011
Posts: 553
Location: Russia

Posted: 2017-05-18, 02:32   

Repository creation should be allowed now.
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 319
Posted: 2017-05-18, 17:36   

@Fay
Another thing I want to request once you have free time for that.
Try to setup Android build for Travis CI, it's will be really helpful.
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 36
Posted: 2017-05-20, 10:40   

I transferred the launcher repo to vcmi ( https://github.com/vcmi/vcmi-android ).

I can look at the CI config after android support pull request is sorted out.
In theory it should be possible to automate the build without much problem (because it already works kinda automatically via the python script), but at the moment I'm not sure what I need to specify there. Anyway, I will check that out.
 
     
Tooandorisu 


Age: 29
Joined: 02 Apr 2013
Posts: 83
Posted: 2017-05-21, 12:23   

Maybe a long shot, but dailies for android build?
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 319
Posted: 2017-05-21, 15:51   

Tooandorisu wrote:
Maybe a long shot, but dailies for android build?

This is one of two reasons why we need CI. Since we now have plenty space to host them there will be at least builds for Windows and OSX from Travis.
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 36
Posted: 2017-05-22, 21:42   

Okaaay, so after reading a bit about travis, I added an experimental config to https://github.com/vcmi/vcmi-android/blob/master/.travis.yml -- it's most likely broken, but at the moment I have no clue how to check if it's correct ( https://lint.travis-ci.org/vcmi/vcmi-android says it's syntactically valid, but I can't really check anything more).
https://travis-ci.org/vcmi/vcmi-android says that travis is not enabled for this repo so I think you need to turn it on manually to check?

Btw, android app on master should compile/work correctly on android 4.1+.
 
     
AVS 

Joined: 25 Feb 2011
Posts: 553
Location: Russia

Posted: 2017-05-23, 10:27   

I`ve enabled travis for "vcmi-android ". Next commit there should trigger build.
  
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 36
Posted: 2017-05-23, 19:54   

Okay, I tinkered with it for some time, but have to give up for today.
I think I'm past "obvious" errors already, because travis starts actual cmake build. Hopefully not much left until it builds correctly, because there errors are killing me. :P
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 319
Posted: 2017-05-23, 20:01   

Might be will be able to check whats wrong in few days.
If build starts then dependency hell shouldnt be so much of a problem.
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 36
Posted: 2017-05-23, 20:23   

I'll probably be able to continue working on it tomorrow. But if it's still broken after few days, you'll be welcome to help. ;)
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 36
Posted: 2017-05-24, 07:56   

Build passed. I can't really verify atm if everything is correct, but at least it finished and is all green now. ;)
 
     
SXX 
VCMI programmer

Age: 25
Joined: 04 Jul 2014
Posts: 319
Posted: 2017-05-24, 23:11   

Great! Once I fix urgent "let's remove user home directory" bug I'll try to setup deploy from Travis to our new daily build server. :-)
 
     
Fay 
User defined rank


Joined: 07 Apr 2014
Posts: 36
Posted: 2017-05-25, 22:38   

Quote:
at the moment I'm not certain what to do about the update process; I use slightly different way of handling OH3 data files so the new app won't detect previously added files
Okay, I managed to detect the data path from previous version and migrate Data, Mp3, Saves and Maps folders and config/settings.json file. I decided to skip Mods folder though (I think it could cause problems aaand it would take more time to implement).

Edit ~ actually, the saves probably aren't even compatible with current version, so probably they shouldn't get migrated...

Quote:
Great! Once I fix urgent "let's remove user home directory" bug I'll try to setup deploy from Travis to our new daily build server.
Feel free to mess with the travis file. ;)
If you need it, generated artifacts should be in ./project/vcmi-app/build/outputs/apk/*.apk

There are still some (minor) things to solve for daily builds. Currently travis builds only one configuration (debug, api16+, armeabi-v7a). I think that ideally 2 packages should be created (release,api16,armeabi-v7a and release,api21,all abis). Changing the build to 2 packages is probably a matter of fiddling with travis config (+ less hardcoding in ./travis-extras/vcmiconf.json.in) and to build release package, we would need to add some "fake" signing to repo.
  
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group

Hosting provided by DigitalOcean
Page generated in 0.02 second. SQL queries: 13