Forum index VCMI Project - Heroes 3: WoG recreated
Forum of the project aiming to recreate best turn-based strategy ever!

FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  StatisticsStatistics
RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  AlbumAlbum  DownloadDownload

Previous topic :: Next topic
Just discovered this project, inquiries about performance
Author Message
duduric 
Codemonkey

Age: 24
Joined: 05 Oct 2016
Posts: 3
  Posted: 2016-10-05, 17:42   Just discovered this project, inquiries about performance

Hi, I am very glad to discover this project after googling around with the intention of starting something similar :-D

I compiled and have been messing around with the engine and it's impressive, but the performance is bothering me a lot...

It's very very jerky on my computer (top end gaming PC), I can notice lots of stuttering, starting in the main menu when you hover the icons. The map screen jerks a lot when moving heroes around (my mouse cursor even gets stuck in place while a hero is moving around). It's playable, but it's very bothersome.

Is this a know problem or am I doing something wrong? None of this happens in vanilla HoMM, even in very old computers. I have tried all the different renderers available without any change whatsoever. I am yet to try running it in a different OS than Windows, though.
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 27
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1530
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2016-10-05, 17:48   

I've been using VCMI on Windows since forever and had no stuttering.

Another possibility is antivirus, they don't seem to like VCMI at all.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
duduric 
Codemonkey

Age: 24
Joined: 05 Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Posted: 2016-10-05, 18:46   

Glad to know it's just me then. I'll be doing further tests at home.
How is it comparable to vanilla HoMM? Does the engine run well on older PCs with integrated GPUs ?
Thanks!
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 27
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1530
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2016-10-05, 19:07   

As far as I know, the engine does not use any GPU at all and just CPU rendering. But for sure performance shouldn't be any issue with modern gear.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
duduric 
Codemonkey

Age: 24
Joined: 05 Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Posted: 2016-10-08, 04:34   

Just tested it on my Linux Mint install, and it runs perfectly smooth, without a single fps drop! Awesome.
But what could be causing that lag in Windows? It's a clean install of Windows 10 (is it supported at all?). I'm at loss here... I already tried messing with all the configurations available

You can see in the screenshot I posted, that just by hovering the main menu icons it eats up a whole core from my quadcore CPU

Specs:
AMD Phenom 965 x4
Nvidia GTX 960
12GB RAM

WindowsCPUUse.png
30 Time(s) 926.24 KB

 
     
misiokles 

Joined: 12 Nov 2015
Posts: 148
Posted: 2016-10-08, 09:07   

I use Win10 (both 32 and 64 bit) and vcmi works fine. A community here doesn't report any issues you mention either. It's maybe something with drivers.
 
     
Dydzio 
H3 fan, Noob coder

Joined: 27 Dec 2014
Posts: 23
Location: Poland
Posted: 2016-10-08, 11:27   

There is performance dropdown in some cases for me (try to enter town screen, then "shake mouse" to switch between different creature slots at the bottom part of town screen). This causes FPS drop, that is noticeable when looking at animated buildings.

Anyway, VCMI rendering should be replaced at some point, as it uses old SDL 1.2.
 
     
Warmonger 
VCMI programmer


Age: 27
Joined: 07 Jun 2008
Posts: 1530
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posted: 2016-10-08, 14:03   

VCMI uses SDL 2.0 for a long time now. As far as I know, SDL 1 support has already been dropped.
_________________
Think twice if you really need to send me private message. Use public forum for general questions.
DJ Warmonger blog
beegee wrote:
Warmonger, you are the best!
 
 
     
Dydzio 
H3 fan, Noob coder

Joined: 27 Dec 2014
Posts: 23
Location: Poland
Posted: 2016-10-08, 16:20   

Technically it uses SDL 2, but I guess it uses elements from "SDL1", which are included there too, SDL 2 has hardware acceleration when all elements are SDL_Texture, the parts of VCMI code I saw use "legacy" SDL_Surface
 
     
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Add this topic to your bookmarks
Printable version

Jump to:  

Powered by phpBB modified by Przemo © 2003 phpBB Group
Template Chronicles modified by Nasedo modified by Tow.
© VCMI Team
Page generated in 0.06 second. SQL queries: 15